Virginia Annual Report

Declare to the state of Virginia that your business is still operating by filing an annual report, which is typically due every calendar year on the last day of your anniversary month, beginning one year after you have founded your company.

Speak to an Expert today about our annual report
service at 888-366-9552

Reports as low as $49 with our Total Compliance Package

The Virginia Secretary of State considers annual reports to be a matter of compliance. When completing the forms, companies must list the names and addresses of their officers and registered agents. Since the Secretary of State’s office keeps this information on file, they will be able to track any changes that have occurred to your company over the past few years.

It’s crucial that Virginia businesses file their annual reports on time. The due date for an annual report is typically the last day of a company’s anniversary month. If a company registered with the state on December 1, 2017, their first annual report would be due December 31, 2018. Limited partnerships and limited liability partnerships are unique in that they have a July 1 due date for their annual reports.

Limited liability companies, both domestic and foreign, do not have to fill out much paperwork when submitting their annual report to the state of Virginia. Instead, they must submit an annual registration fee of $50. Like corporations, this fee is due by the last day of the anniversary month. Even though there is minimal paperwork, limited liability companies will still be at risk of losing their business if they do not pay the annual registration fee by the deadline.

Let Us File Your Virginia Annual Report

Worried about filing your annual report to the State of Virginia? Let us do it for you. Our convenient filing services come with the following benefits:

  • Experienced preparation
  • Guaranteed on-time filing with the state of Virginia
  • Keep your Virginia business operating legally
  • Avoid late fees and penalties

We Protect Your Privacy

Your privacy is of utmost importance to us and we go to great lengths to keep your personal information from falling into the wrong hands. As part of our promise, we:

  • Monitor Virginia state business records
  • Update your records for you
  • Allow you to use our address when filing instead of yours

We don’t sell your information to anyone. We only provide it to government entities when required, and we only keep it on file so we can help you with your future annual registration needs.

Virginia Annual Registration Filing Fees & Instructions

The filing fees for the state of Virginia vary greatly depending on how the business classifies itself. Both foreign and domestic profit organizations must pay between $100 and $1700 to file an annual report with the Secretary of State. The state determines the amount that the business owes based upon the number of authorized shares that they have issued. Nonprofit corporations pay a much smaller filing fee of $25. Limited liability companies pay an annual registration fee of $50.

Virginia Corporations (Domestic & Foreign)

State Office:
Virginia State Corporation Commission
1300 East Main Street – PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733

Due Date: Anniversary Month End
Filing Fee: Depends on number of authorized shares: $100 – $1,700
Penalty: Late fee of 10% or $10, whichever is greater.
Your business can be dissolved or revoked at 4 months late.
Filing Method: Online and Mail
Forms: Virginia State Corporation Commission:
Annual Registration
Important Information: An officer or director may file.
Original signatures are not required.

Virginia Limited Liability Companies (Domestic & Foreign)

State Office:
Virginia State Corporation Commission
1300 East Main Street – PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733

Due Date: Anniversary Month End
Filing Fee: $50
Penalty: Late fee of $25, whichever is greater.
Your business can be dissolved or revoked at 3 months late.
Filing Method: Online and Mail
Forms: Virginia State Corporation Commission:
Annual Registration
Important Information: An officer or director may file.
Original signatures are not required.

Virginia Nonprofit Corporations (Domestic & Foreign)

State Office:
Virginia State Corporation Commission
1300 East Main Street – PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733

Due Date: Anniversary Month End
Filing Fee: $25
Penalty: Late fee of 10% or $10, whichever is greater.
Your business can be dissolved or revoked at 4 months late.
Filing Method: Online and Mail
Forms: Virginia State Corporation Commission:
Annual Registration
Important Information: An officer or director may file.
Original signatures are not required.

Virginia Limited Partnerships (Domestic & Foreign)

State Office:
Virginia State Corporation Commission
1300 East Main Street – PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733

Due Date: July 1st
Filing Fee: $50
Penalty: $25
Filing Method: Mail only
Forms: Notice of Assessment of Annual Registration fee is sent to the business. To request a lost notice click here
Important Information: The annual registration fee must be paid on or before December 31 to avoid cancellation.

Virginia Limited Liability Partnerships (Domestic & Foreign)

State Office:
Virginia State Corporation Commission
1300 East Main Street – PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733

Due Date: July 1st
Filing Fee: $50
Penalty: $25
Filing Method: Mail only
Forms: Notice of Assessment of Annual Registration fee is sent to the business. To request a lost notice click here
Important Information: The annual registration fee must be paid on or before December 31 to avoid cancellation.

Virginia General Partnerships (Domestic & Foreign)

State Office:
Virginia State Corporation Commission
1300 East Main Street – PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733

Due Date: Not Required
Filing Fee: Not Required
Penalty: Not Required
Filing Method: Not Required
Forms: Not Required
Important Information: Not Required

How to File Your Virginia Secretary of State Annual Report:

The Virginia State Corporation Commission allows users to submit the report electronically, but only if there are no changes to the corporate structure. If a corporation makes a change to its director or information officer, the company must submit a hard copy through the mail. But, if there are no changes to the corporate structure, businesses can file electronically here. This website allows them to pay their filing fees online by using a credit or debit card.

If companies must submit a hard copy of the annual report, they can request a form from the Clerk’s Office. The state recommends making this request well in advance of the filing deadline so that you are not late.

Limited liability companies are not required to submit an annual report each year. Instead, they must simply pay a renewal fee. But, if there are any changes to their corporate structure, they must report these to the state of Virginia the same a corporation would.

Our Virginia Annual Report Service

We offer secure, professional annual registration preparation and filing services. Hire us and you’ll never need to worry about missing an annual report deadline or paying hidden fees. We’ll make sure your business is in good legal standing so you don’t face the threat of administrative dissolution.

Virginia Annual Report Filing Service Benefits

Our annual report filing services can benefit you in the following ways:

  • Hassle-free annual compliance
  • No missed deadlines or late fees
  • Professionally prepared and submitted filing service

Have questions about our annual report services or business compliance solutions? Contact us or fill out our convenient online price quote form.

Virginia Business Annual Report FAQS

Your due date will depend on your business classification. Corporations, limited liability companies, and nonprofits must file by the last day of the month in which they were founded.

Businesses are allowed to file their annual reports late, but there are fees associated with doing so. The state requires corporations to pay 10% of the registration fee if they late, nonprofits to pay a $10 late fee, and limited liability companies and limited partnerships to pay a $25 late fee.

If a corporation does not file within four months of the deadline, the state will terminate them automatically. If a limited liability company does not file with three months of the deadline, the state will consider them to be delinquent.

Yes, Virginia will contact your registered agent 75 days before your deadline.

The state of Virginia allows you to view annual reports dating back more than two decades. You can access the database here.

Virginia Business Resources:

Virginia Office of Secretary of State
Phone Number:
(804) 371-9733

Address:
Virginia State Corporation Commission
1300 East Main Street – PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218

HELP FILE MY VIRGINIA ANNUAL REPORT

There is a lot to remember when running a business and making sure the annual report or biennial report is filed on time is the last thing a business owner needs to worry about. At DoMyLLC we have an entire department that is dedicated to ensuring annual report filing are complete in a timely manner. Take one less task off your plate and feel confident your annual report will be filed on time to avoid late penalties and falling into bad standing with the state.